Lemon Shrimp Pasta Salad

“Shrimps” is one of C’s favorite foods, much to his Grandma’s dismay!  The recipe calls for mixing in the cold cooked shrimp, but next time, we’ll grill it with a little Italian dressing and put it on top warm.

Adapted from Kraft’s Food and Family magazine (Spring 2007)

  • 3 cups bow tie pasta
  • 1 large bunch fresh asparagus spears, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 cup Italian dressing
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp (no more) grated lemon peel
  • 1 pound cooked shrimp
  • 1 cup (more because we love them) cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup crumbled Colby Jack cheese (C’s favorite)

I cooked the pasta as directed on the package, adding the asparagus for the last 3 minutes of cooking time.  Then I poured it out in a colander, rinsed thoroughly with cold water, and drained it again, this time very well.  It was all poured into a plastic bowl with a lid, ready for refrigerating.  (We made this at about 4:30, after nap.)

While the pasta was cooking, C measured out the oregano into our mortar and pestle and crushed it.  I finished the job.  This helps the flavor of the dried herb come out, especially since it wasn’t going to be cooked.  (We got our mortar and pestle set from Ikea a million years ago, in case you were wondering.)  The oregano was transferred to a cereal bowl.  Then I poured the dressing into the measuring cup C was holding (with my help), and it was added to the oregano, as well as the lemon zest (which I had already grated, though I let C smell it and notice the white underneath the yellow of the lemon peel).

Crushing the oregano, with K uninterested

With C beside me, I cut the cherry tomatoes in half with a serrated knife.  He knows that a serrated knife is a “back-and-forth” knife, and sometimes gets to help cut, depending on his mood!  He ate as many tomatoes as I put into the bowl.   The two of us are cherry tomato junkies, I confess…

The “shrimps” had been thawing all day, but they needed de-tailed.  I pulled the step stool up to the sink and showed C how to grab the shrimp with one hand and the tail with the other and pull.  Of course, he wasn’t very efficient (if he did any at all!), but he enjoyed the effort for a while.  I helped him through a couple that he couldn’t get, but he eventually got frustrated, so I let him play in the water until I was done with the rest.  In they went into the bowl.

Playing in the water is much better than cooking!

Then he helped me pour the dressing over top and “folded” the mixture together.  He knows that this is a “bring the bottom to the top” motion, though he’s not very good at it.  He had no problem letting me finish mixing.

I crumbled the cheese with a fork while he was playing, done cooking for the day!  It was saved until just before serving, and we put it on top of individual portions rather than mixing it all in.

The finished product, being blessed!

This was great the next day too!

About Cherry Blossom Photography

As a mom of three boys, I know all about real life and real love. Behind a camera, I see the beauty in the fleeting moments that should be captured, for those are the real moments that we'll miss when they're gone. Let me capture the real, beautiful love in your real, beautiful life.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon Shrimp Pasta Salad

  1. Katy says:

    This sounds good, but I’m still waiting for the smothered chicken recipe!

Leave a Reply

