Pumpkin Bread

Pie pumpkins were on sale just after Halloween, and with the help of our handy-dandy KitchenAid strainer attachment, we made our own puree!  I imagine it would be just as good with the tried-and-true canned stuff too.

Adapted slightly from Shivaya Naturals

  • 1 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Our recipe began by preparing the pumpkin: cutting it in half, scooping out the goop (saving the seeds for roasting, naturally), placing upside down on a baking sheet, and baking at 350 for 40 minutes.  The pumpkin was scooped out of the shells and pureed with the strainer/baby food maker and set aside.

C measured the flour, baking soda (the one with the “s”), and spices together in a small mixing bowl and mixed.  We then added the butter and sugar to the stand mixer and beat on high to cream them together.  C counted out the eggs, and I cracked them into the fluffy butter and sugar.  This was mixed well, and I scraped the sides of the bowl once.

We turned the mixer to low, and C and I took turns adding the dry ingredients and the pumpkin alternately.  When the batter was just combined, we turned off the mixer (didn’t take a test taste… I’m getting better at this!), measured out and added the chocolate chips and walnuts.  While C munched on the chips and walnuts, I stirred the batter until they were dispersed evenly.

I poured the batter into a well-greased loaf pan and baked it at 350 for about 55 minutes, when a toothpick came out clean.  Baking time could be between 50-60 minutes depending on your oven.  Start checking at 50 minutes so you don’t have dry bread.

Cool in pan on a cooling rack before turning out and cutting.  Store it in a Ziploc or air-tight container because it tends to dry out a bit.  I’m sure the experts say cool completely before slicing, but believe me, it’s worth a crumbly piece to eat it warm!

About Cherry Blossom Photography

As a mom of three boys, I know all about real life and real love. Behind a camera, I see the beauty in the fleeting moments that should be captured, for those are the real moments that we'll miss when they're gone. Let me capture the real, beautiful love in your real, beautiful life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Bread

  1. Angela says:

    I believe I have everything I need to make this recipe already in my house, minus the walnuts! I’m going to give it a go! Do you think it would turn out if you put it in a bread maker, or is the conventional oven the best way to go? (I tried to pick up some mixes today but failed to find any, I’m just trying to put it to good use). 🙂

Leave a Reply

