Oatmeal Cranberry Scones

Today I don’t have pictures of making these amazing scones because, you know what?, taking pictures and baking with a 2 1/2-year-old is tough!

We began this recipe almost 4 weeks ago when my family was visiting.  I had intended to have C make them with Grandma and Grandpa but realized after we sifted the dry ingredients that I hadn’t bought unsalted butter.  By the time Grandpa fetched some from the store, breakfast was over.  And playing the rest of the weekend left no room for scone-making.  Alas.  The dry ingredients remained sifted in an airtight container, ready for an empty afternoon.  Which was yesterday.

(I really have no idea where this recipe came from, but boy am I glad I found it!)

  • 1 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter
  • 1 1/3 cups oatmeal (old-fashioned, not quick cooking)
  • 1/2 cup (or more) Craisins
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350.

We got to use the sifter for this one!  C measured (with help) the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar right into the sifter, then helped turn the crank until all of the dry ingredients were sifted into a big mixing bowl.  (Then I realized we didn’t have unsalted butter, the dry ingredients were transferred to a storage container, and we cleaned up.  But you don’t have to do that.)

C finally figured out how to turn one stick of butter into half a stick of butter (by cutting it, of course, but first he said “break it”, then “shoot hoops with it”…).  I helped him chop the butter into tablespoon-ish pieces and transfer it into the dry ingredients.  I used our pastry blender utensil to mix and cut until it resembled “coarse meal,” whatever that means.  Basically, I made sure the butter was in about pea-sized chunks.  Meanwhile, C ate Craisins and dry oatmeal.

C scooped 4 third-cup scoops of oatmeal into the mixture and added the Craisins.  We measured and poured the buttermilk into the mixture, and I did all the stirring.  It was super sticky and clumpy, and I ended up using my hands more than a wooden spoon.  Once all of the dry ingredients were blended in (still leaving some butter chunks), I picked it all up and made it into a ball on my floured countertop.  Meanwhile, C spilled his Craisins and oatmeal on the floor.

I kneaded the dough about 6 times before patting it into a 1/2-inch thick circle.  I used a knife to cut 6 triangles, like a pie.  Next time I will probably use my 3-inch round biscuit cutter for C-sized portions.  The triangles were placed on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  I did not, but the recipe suggested brushing the tops of the scones with a beaten egg and sprinkling with cinnamon.  Just one more step I didn’t think was necessary.

My oven took 21 minutes to bake them until the edges were just brown.  Check yours at 18.  (Will use significantly less time for smaller circle scones.)  Remove from the oven and cool on a cooling rack.  (This is my amazing cooling rack.)

Hands down best right out of the oven (and with a cup of coffee if you’re a Mommy), and definitely need eaten by day 2.  C and I shared a warm one before supper.

About Cherry Blossom Photography

As a mom of three boys, I know all about real life and real love. Behind a camera, I see the beauty in the fleeting moments that should be captured, for those are the real moments that we'll miss when they're gone. Let me capture the real, beautiful love in your real, beautiful life.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oatmeal Cranberry Scones

  1. Laura says:

    I made these scones this morning for breakfast and they were DELICIOUS!!!! We all loved them and I will be making them again. Thanks a lot and keep the recipes coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

