Grandma’s Peanut Butter Cookies

This poor blog has been neglected.  Sorry, blog.  If it’s any consolation, everything else that was unessential in my life was also neglected during the month of December.  Lots of making and baking for others, not much making and baking with kids.  Actually, C helped at least a little with every treat we put into our neighbors’ goody boxes.  (That’ll be its own post soon.)  But no picture-taking and no time for blog-writing.

Now, however, the house still smells like my mom’s peanut butter cookies that both boys and I made this morning.  It was our first truly together cooking experience, as the boys got a kitchen tower from me for Christmas.  It was a necessity: K is 19 months and will not be left out of kitchen experiences any longer.  The boys both fit, but barely, and 3 rules were created in order to assure harmony: be patient, be helpful, be a good example.  Cookies were good motivation for C to do the right thing!

I must say that most of this baking experience was spent discovering and setting expectations for the kitchen tower, then refereeing.  So I did more work than usual, and K didn’t do much either.  (He was just thrilled to be at counter-height and able to mess with stuff.)  Hopefully each subsequent recipe will be less of me and more of them!

From my mom’s recipe box, with very minor adjustments

  • 1 scant cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup Crisco
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • (This makes a lot, especially small-sized cookies.  Feel free to halve!)

Preheat the oven to 350degrees.

The directions say to mix in the order given, so that was a little list-reading lesson for C.  I measured, he dumped the sugars; I measured and scooped the peanut butter, he begged to lick the cup.  K almost opened the very full vanilla.  I gave C the stick of butter to open while I measured out the Crisco.  He warned K not to taste the Crisco because it’s “very yucky.”  Such a good big brother.  C likes to crack the eggs and can do so without breaking them completely.  I managed to throw an entire eggshell into the running KitchenAid without cursing in front of my children.  I did take an extra few seconds to help the baby scoop and scrape the 2 teaspoons of baking powder, so I guess he did do something!  Since there were 3 cups of flour, there was one for C, one for K, and one for Mommy to dump in.  Then C must have violated one of the new Tower Rules because I did the salt and vanilla quickly and without his help.  He was on Tower Time-Out.

C wanted to help roll the dough into balls (slightly smaller than golf balls), but I just don’t think he’s ready for that.  I did, however, give both boys forks to make the criss-cross impressions.  And I left the cookies that they did alone; proof they helped!

Bake 10-12 minutes, depending on how soft or crunchy you like your cookies.  (I went with 11:45, and they were just a tad overdone for my taste.  Still fabulous with a glass of milk, though!)  C had a new job this time: he used the spatula to move them from the cookie sheet to the cooling racks.  Small steps to show how much he’s maturing!

About Cherry Blossom Photography

As a mom of three boys, I know all about real life and real love. Behind a camera, I see the beauty in the fleeting moments that should be captured, for those are the real moments that we'll miss when they're gone. Let me capture the real, beautiful love in your real, beautiful life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

